Music for Common Worship

Tuesday 1 December 2020
home >

Common Worship: President's Edition
cover of Common Worship President's Edition

Common Worship: Prayer and Services for the Church of England – the first in the series of publications for the Church of England's new liturgy – was published on 1 December 2000 in a range of editions.

The President's Edition contains a 144-page music section typeset in Score by Alistair Warwick, a PDF of which can be downloaded from the Church of England's website.

The first edition omitted to mention the music typesetter; this omission is noted here, together with other errata.

Where can I buy a copy?

Buy the Common Worship President's Edition from Amazon

Hearing the chant

The website of the Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield enables you to download and hear chant settings published in the President's edition of Common Worship as an aid to preparing for the celebration of the new liturgy.

Common Worship: Festivals
cover of Common Worship Festivals volume

The Festivals volume, published on 4 February 2008 by Church House Publishing (London) is the final* volume in the Common Worship Publishing Project, and brings to completion the largest liturgical project by the Church of England since the 1662 Prayer Book. (See "Music" for details of the Music for Common Worship project.)

A list of the Short and Extended Prefaces can be found below.

Festivals includes a further 88 pages of music engraved in Score by The Art of Music. Music settings includes additional Short and Extended Prefaces for the Eucharistic Prayers (to supplement those found in Common Worship: Sunday Services) as well as settings of four of the prayers (Prayers A, B, C and E). They are set to authentic plainsong tones, which have been used over many years in daily worship at the Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield (see above).

Where can I buy a copy?

Buy Common Worship Festivals from Amazon

Kindle Edition available

Common Worship Festivals is also available for you to use on your Kindle or tablet (Android or iPad)

Update (March 2010)

A new volume "Times and Seasons Altar Book was commisioned and published in 2010 with music engraved by The Art of Music.

Short and Extended Prefaces
  • The Naming and Circumcision of Jesus
  • The Conversion of Paul
  • Joseph of Nazareth
  • The Annunciation of Our Lord
    to the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Day of Thanksgiving for the Holy Communion
    (Corpus Christi)
  • The Visit of the Blessed Virgin Mary to Elizabeth
  • The Birth of John the Baptist
  • Peter and Paul, Apostles
  • Mary Magdalene
  • The Transfiguration of Our Lord
  • Holy Cross Day
  • Michael and All Angels
  • Stephen, Deacon, First Martyr
  • John, Apostle and Evangelist
  • The Holy Innocents
  • Dedication Festival
  • The Faithful Departed
  • The Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Apostles and Evangelists
  • Martyrs
  • Teachers of the Faith
  • Bishops and other Pastors
  • Members of Religious Communities
  • Missionaries
  • Any Saint; Holy Men and Women
  • The Guidance of the Holy Spirit
  • Rogation Days
  • Mission and Evangelism [Extended Preface only]
  • The Unity of the Church
  • The Peace of the World
  • Ministry (including Ember Days)
Common Worship: Times and Seasons
cover of Common Worship Times and Seasons volume


Times and Seasons, published in 2006, has been one of the most popular Common Worship volumes, greatly enriching worship through the year with a wealth of seasonal texts.

This new altar edition of Times and Seasons provides everything that is needed for the celebration of Holy Communion during:

  • Advent, Christmas, Epiphany
  • Lent, Passiontide and Holy Week
  • Easter, Pentecost, Trinity, All Saints to Advent

as well as at key times in the agricultural year.

It includes:

  • the text of Holy Communion Order One
  • the full range of eucharistic prayers
  • the Collects and Additional Collects
  • the full range of seasonal material from Times and Seasons
  • music for seasonal prefaces
  • additional material for some festivals during Ordinary Time such as harvest and rogation.

This volume will be widely welcomed by cathedrals and small parishes alike.

Where can I buy a copy?

You can buy Common Worship: New Altar Edition: Times and Seasons from Amazon

Kindle edition

Times and Seasons is also available for you to use on your Kindle or tablet (Android or iPad)

Music for Common Worship

Seven volumes of Music for Common Worship have now appeared, as part of the RSCM's work in supporting the Common Worship Publishing Project.

The general editor for this project is Professor John Harper, Director, International Centre for Sacred Music Studies (ICSMuS) and former Director, RSCM.

Text and music for all of these volumes (except the music for volume V) were typeset by Alistair Warwick.

Over the coming years ICSMuS will prepare new resources for Times and Seasons, Festivals, Daily Prayer, Rites on the Way, Ordination, Music for Pastoral Services.

Volumes currently available

Music for Common Worship I: Music for Sunday Services (RSCM Press, 2000)

Buy from

Music for Common Worship II: Music for the President (RSCM Press, 2000)

Buy from

Music for Common Worship III: A Basic Guide
(RSCM Press, 2000)

Buy from

Music for Common Worship IV: Psalter pointed for use with Anglican Chant
(words edition: RSCM Press, 2002)

Music for Common Worship V: Psalter pointed for use with Anglican Chant
(music edition: RSCM Press, 2002)

Music for Common Worship VI: Night Prayer
(RSCM Press, 2005)

Buy from

Music for Common Worship VII: Compline
(in traditional language and traditional chant)
(Plainsong & Medieval Society, 2006)

Example pages will be loaded here shortly.

Scroll To Top